untitled

how well i know that sound
of tumbler steel meeting
granite

percussion to the
soft rustle of newsprint
leaves

its timbre announcing
how much coffee
remains unsipped,
how gripping the
headline

this is how we speak
now
metal words,
quarried silences.
all
in other rooms.

8 responses to “ untitled

  1. der aaye, durust aaye

    shukriya

  2. As the previous commenter said, well worth the long wait.

    Thank you.

  3. Lovely!

    PS : We missed you.

  4. Very nice. I love the first stanza. Starting a poem off is the most easy thing for me. I usually evolve my poems from the first stanza. It’s lovely. Somewhere, though, either I am losing rhythm reading it or it is the poem. The third stanza, is, i think a little off kilter. Won’t you revisit? If only to tell me I am wrong about it and that the third stanza is exactly as it should be.

    • Thank you for the kind comments, Quill. The third stanza is meant to be a little abrupt, but not off kilter. I think I wanted the wordless harmony broken by the hard silence – not sure how I can do that without sounding abrupt. Convinced? Not? Do tell!

      Abirami: Thank you.

  5. it reminded me of another poem you wrote. one that had the line ‘so this is how i love you’.

  6. you are a seductress… oh, you are!

Leave a Reply

