Reading you

The headlines are in
your eyes,
I glance slowly
at your
subtitled lips.
Messages fringe
each curve.

Am I the first
to open your
covers,
to smell the
crooks?

I linger over
lines, pause
at phrases
and wonder –
what if I
cheated
and turned
to the
last page?

4 responses to “Reading you

  1. Your best so far. Definitely!

    (Oh, I think an unedited version was up before? Because some lines seem really familiar…)

    Yes it was, as a result of some careless clicking. Then it got unpublished, slightly edited and put back as you see it now.

  2. as usual…beautiful

    Thank you. I am hoping someone will provide critical comments as well.

  3. haha…
    im too much of a fan to criticize!
    i try so hard to write poetry…but just cant!

    Write prose that is like poetry then. Just keep writing.

  4. The method, buddy, is this. First write a few sentences normally.

    “I went to the market on a cloudy Tuesday. It didn’t rain, surprisingly. Although it did threaten to rain. Now, is that the same as cloudy, I wondered. Can it be not cloudy and threaten to rain?”

    Then, you press the enter key on the paragraph with gay abandon.

    I went to the
    market on a cloudy
    Tuesday.
    It didn’t
    rain, surprisingly. Although
    it did threaten
    to rain.

    Now, is that the
    same as cloudy,
    I wondered.
    Can it be —
    not cloudy
    and
    threaten
    to ra-
    -in?

    There you have it! The words have to be slightly more profound, though.
    (I sometimes wish it was this simple!)

    Guhahahah! But this ‘poet’ presses the enter key before the lines begin to look like sentences. And that is her feeble (and only) claim to authenticity.

Leave a Reply

