A biding

After a week, sunlight.
Thwarted by clouds, but dodging them,
yellow streams flow into the room
lighting your shoulders.
A golden fringe forms
around your graceful limbs,
silken hair on sinewy arms
take on a flaxen hue.

The sun has moved now, slipping
between cracks in the heavens.
A gentle ray falls on your cheek,
I watch it caress you
in a way I never can,
with a lightness of touch
not given to my clumsy hands.

So this is how I love you –
from five feet away, forbidden
to touch, to approach.
Caged, my passion paces in pain
retracts its claws,
waits for the cover of rain.

5 responses to “A biding

  1. hi…
    well written piece of poetry where u have blended the environment and factors affecting it with the feeling of urs and how it affects to ur overall mood…

    –anujjha

  2. “A gentle ray falls on your cheek,
    I watch it caress you
    in a way I never can,
    with a lightness of touch
    not given to my clumsy hands.”

    Arrey, too good!

  3. Just like a raga!

  4. anujjha: Thank you.

    aandthirtyeights: What can I say?

    mg: Really? Which one?

  5. As seems to have become usual : Lovely 🙂

    I like the last bit especially!

Leave a Reply

